If Radio Station isn't available in your Country, please use a free VPN service (and choose Germany or France)

Listen Eat This Rock n Metal Radio in Winamp

Πέμπτη, 3 Μαΐου 2018

The Slyde - Awakening (2018)

TheSlyde Awakening cover.jpg

Following up with 2017’s EP release “Back Again”, Canadian melodic proggers The Slyde return with their first full length effort titled “Awakening”.  The band (formerly known as just Slyde) will drop ten tracks of the intricate, contrapuntal prog rock they’ve honed over the last decade, on May 18 2018.

The band comments:

“‘Awakening’ refers to the process of invoking change. Each song can be seen as a protest song, arguing for a more peaceful and autonomous way of life. For example, the opening track ‘Awaken/Walk With Me’ is about getting away from the powerful effects of media control and propaganda.  ‘Back Again’ is about the beauty and fragility of our Earth, and how we take it for granted. ‘Divide’ refers to the brainwashing effects of politics of fear and division in the West. “Awakening” looks at our daily consumption and poses the question ‘what is, or could be, our reality?”

Aptly named, The Slyde focuses their lyrics on sociopolitical and environmental issues. The band has a mission to give fans of all genres something to rock out to while injustice and turmoil swirls around them. Hailed as ‘intelligent and compelling’, The Slyde is a euphemism or foreshadowing to the destination of our society and environment.

Beginning in 2008, they had the idea to create progressive and somewhat heavy music but with a pop sensibility. They have evolved far from their 2 demos (2009 and 2010) to formulate esoteric, textured, hair-swinging, high-energy prog with politically motivated lyrics showcased on the full-length Feed the Machine (2011).

Embracing their heavier side and putting a more metal spin into the riffs, the new album is less conceptual but stays true to their mission statement with their quirky arrangements, aggressive edge and ominous lyrics. The result is a thought provoking, high-octane album for fans of Rush, Dream Theater, Haken, Coheed and Cambria, and Megadeth. Driven by Nathan Da Silva’s elegant vocals, Sarah Westbrook’s powering keyboard skills, and the powerful rhythm section of Alberto Campuzano and Brendan Soares, the band will catch the ears of any technically minded melodic prog rock fan.


Δεν υπάρχουν σχόλια:

Δημοσίευση σχολίου

Σημείωση: Μόνο ένα μέλος αυτού του ιστολογίου μπορεί να αναρτήσει σχόλιο.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...